ANS President’s Special Session:

The Intersection of Nuclear and National Security

Tuesday, June 9, 8:00-10:00 am

The success and health of national security depend on all aspects of the nuclear community; private industry, academia, government, and national laboratories. However, progress in the commercialization of nuclear technology has slowed and with it the prominence of the United States as a leader in nuclear security and technology. Growing our commercial fleet is necessary to maintain our leadership in nuclear technology. A strong commercial nuclear sector is crucial to ensure the appropriate education of experts in nonproliferation and nuclear security. Laboratories and universities develop new technology pivotal for the expansion of the commercial fleet.

This session will focus on the past, present, and future of the intersection of national security and nuclear. It will examine the history of nuclear to understand how engineering, construction, and licensing were different and much faster in the past, and how that lead the industry to where it is today. The relationship between military and civilian uses of nuclear will also be discussed, from Atoms for Peace to the possible use of microreactors in military applications. Ultimately, this will lead to the topic of the US’ leadership in the nuclear industry on a global scale as it stands today and how to regain that leadership in the future.

Marilyn Kray
President, ANS